Strong Look Records

release / STR0000002
Weak Boys "Weekdays/Weekends"

October 24, 2014 / Vinyl + Digital

BUY: Bandcamp / iTunes
STEAL: Spotify

More: Weak Boys

1. South Australia
2. Hangovers
3. Dog Farm
4. Settled
5. Unrequited Diane Keaton

1. Deal With It
2. Fucken Landlords
3. I'm Never Drinking Again
4. Jules, Brent & I
5. That's Me

All songs written by WEAK BOYS - Matt Banham, Chris Yates and Craig Lyons. Recorded by Peter Beringer at Audile Design and WEAK BOYS at Matt Banham's House. Mastered by Tim Carr. Cover photo by Matt Banham. Layout by Jonny. Logo and back photos by Romi Real.

Big ups to Jonny, Cass, Gin, Oxley, Big Rols, Sam, Jessie, Romi, Tiani, Sujini, Jack, Dreamboats, Little Lovers, Dollar Bar, Summer Flake, Jake & 78 Saab and Paul's vending machine.

The Untold History of the WEAK BOYS

WEAK BOYS came together in the most unlikely of scenarios. It was a time of great sorrow, a loss of direction and uncertainty for the future. Each individual member was walking aimlessly about Sydney┬┤s west looking for a solution, looking for an answer to fill the unexplainable void inside. They found none of these things but they did however, find each other in a similar state. Banded together, like the television epic Band of Brothers but through sorrow, drinking and housing woes rather than the hardship of war. The struggle is the same. The bondage is firm. So what do three men, far too old to top themselves with a glimmer of hope still floating within do? They start a rock n roll band and sing about it.

WEAK BOYS, united together by weakness, have managed to deliver a product of power, a product of hope. God willing, it's a template for every sad bastard out there to shape up or ship out. Just listen to tracks like "Deal With It", or the Noah's Ark, save-the-animals message behind "Dog Farm". Hilarious contradictions like, "Drinking" and then "Hangovers" are inevitable. As are unrequited love ballads ("Brent, Jules and I") and completely non-required offcuts from the band's now infamous demo sessions. "That's [them], I guess", wails one of our heroes. And he's right. Shortcomings showed off as assets, trademarked markings of twenty plus years of getting your mits dirty. This isn't a band destined for stardom, or even respect, it's a band simply attempting to document their sacrifice.

That specific document is what you're currently holding in your hands.

WEEKDAYS / WEEKENDS is an album of two sides, both in the practical sense: whereby both sides of this record have audio carved into it; as well as in the most damning metaphorical sense, with every moment documenting the hardships of a 9-5 workday week contradicted by a revelling snippet of weekend relief. It's a complete picture of what it means to be a lost soul in a modern landscape hell-bent on crushing that very same immaterial presence.

It's an album created from a temporary space. Recorded on a whim and forced into the more tangible physical world by a high level record label executive attempting to define his own meaningless existence. Circumstances traditionally defined as a "perfect storm", in this specific case it's a medicore afternoon shower with the slim possibility of mild winds in coastal areas. To say the very least.

More specifically, WEEKDAYS / WEEKENDS is a broken down ride at your local school fair, twenty minutes after the designated closing time, with the only trained supervisor already two Imperial Pints deep at the nearby drinking hole. If you don't get it now, then put it back on the shelf, live a little more and make a significant effort to dissipate your remaining grams of hope. It's Brisbane, Adelaide and Ultimo glued together, aiming for a unified distrust of humanity, derailed from it's high moral altitude, with the accompanying clean smirk aimed in the general direction of their protesting brethren. It's toilet humour with a depressing punchline. It's pathetic and loveable. It's just some WEAK BOYS trying to give their directionless future a STRONG LOOK.

— Nathan Roche & Jonny Nail